California Wing Website
Main Content

About Us

About California Wing


California Wing is a Wing of Pacific Region of Civil Air Patrol. California Wing (CAWG) has operational boundaries of the entire Golden State of California, comprising an area of over 155,779 square miles of land, 7916 square miles of waterways, and 40 million people.

Our squadrons consist of senior members 18 years of age and older and cadet members between 12 and 21 years. There are three types of Squadrons, Senior, Composite, and Cadet, that contribute to all three of the core Civil Air Patrol programs: Aerospace Education, the Cadet Program, and Emergency Services. To learn more about our programs, please click here. To join CAP click here to start.

As background on our echelons, a senior squadron is open only to senior (adult) members. A cadet squadron is primarily for cadet members, but it must have three senior members. A composite squadron is composed of both senior and cadet members. A flight is smaller than a squadron and may have a charter or be part of a squadron. A group oversees and supports several squadrons in a given area. A wing is a state, commonwealth, or district headquarters. There is a wing in each of the 50 states, Puerto Rico, and the District of Columbia. CAP’s eight regions are composed of several wings or states.

More information is available in the short slideshow CAP 101, the 2021 Report to Congress, and the 2022 Fact Sheet attached to this page.


© 2023 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.